Block chain not updating

NRS 1.3.6cg, Windows 8.1 Pro, 16GB RAM, i4770, 4 core, hyperthreading to 8 cores, 600 GB free RAM on primary hard drive, 1.3Mbps download ATT DSL/Uverse, Two Wire/Pace/ATT 5031-NV-030 router.

I’m a relative newbie to cyber currency. Heard about the recent Bitcoin run-up so got interested, but I can’t support anything so eco-unfriendly per Brad Cohen’s info. I decided to wait for his Chia in 2018. Then somehow I stumbled across your Burst-Coin link today which sounds similar to Cohen’s ideas…

No problems with your download and Qbundle wallet setup. I accepted default options including portable java. Took 36 minutes total to that point, iirc. Then I accepted the option to download one of the pre-exported block chains with >6 million transactions, latest 10/29/2017. That completed OK, then it automatically started updating the block chain…

That was several hours ago but I can see no signs of progress. I doubt anything is getting thru. No processor activity. No indication in the Wallet of any new data being imported. Trying to fix this… I opened the same incoming ports (pinholes) in router as were made for Windows Firewall. I’ve also tried restarting computer. Of course as a newbie I have absolutely no idea how long it should take, or what changes to look for in the wallet.

Any ideas? Could the block chain be corrupt and unrepairable? Would I be better off starting over from scratch and downloading the entire block chain rather than a pre-exported version? Gotta fish or cut bait on this fairly soon! I like the looks of your wallet or would’ve already tossed in the towel. Any ideas?

Thanks.

1 Like

Sorry, pulling the plug, not ready for prime time…

1 Like

Downloading the block chain from the genesis block takes about 1-2 days on a average setup ish.

@johnnybob
Your machine is suffient for burst without any problem.