Mining & ROI

Hi Everyone!

So I’m new to this whole mining thing but so far, really enjoying it! While determining it’s “value” I’m a little concerned with ROI however. I created a calculator because the current ones that I could find online weren’t instilling a lot of confidence in the coin. Turns out mine isn’t either!

For instance, if I’m mining with 2 8TB hard drives with a total cost around $325USD, I would expect to see something like $0.39/day solo mining with a network difficulty around the 350,000 mark. But that’s just to start. With the 5% reduction per month, I won’t ever see a return on my hard drives before BURST is totally mined out in 2029? (The actual amount mined is actually past this estimate)

Is that about what I should expect? Is my math way off? (Could be)

Which leads me to my second question. When all 2,158,812,800 BURST is mined out, what then? What’s the incentive to keep these hard drives online?

Either way, I think the PoC model beats PoW any day, especially if we can get some distributed storage online for cloud services. Middle Out??

Cheers!

Is your assumption in your calculations that BURST will stay the the price it is at today until 2029? While no one can predict how much it will climb that unknown is the one number that needs to be guesstimated.

Hypothetically what does your calculator say if BURST were to jump to $1.00 which does not seem so unreasonable.

Also SOLO mining with 16TB will not get you very far. Numbers quoted on the forum say that you should solo mine when you have at least 75TB or above. Stick to pool mining until then.

I am mining with 180TB and my probability of hitting a block is around 4.9% given the network capacity about one month ago. I hit a block around every 10-15 days and I pool mine.

Hope that helps

Hi Digidigm,

Thanks for the reply!